Thoroughbred Racing Highlights


of the
Breeders' Cup

2009 Mine That Bird
2008 Curlin Big Brown Raven's Pass
2007 Curlin Street Sense Curlin
2006 Invasor Barbaro Invasor
2005 Saint Liam Giacomo Saint Liam
2004 Ghostzapper Smarty Jones Ghostzapper
2003 Mineshaft Funny Cide Pleasantly Perfect
2002 Azeri War Emblem Volponi
2001 Point Given Monarchos Tiznow
2000 Tiznow Fusaichi Pegasus Tiznow
1999 Charismatic Charismatic Cat Thief
1998 Skip Away Real Quiet Awesome Again
1997 Favorite Trick Silver Charm Skip Away
1996 Cigar Grindstone Alphabet Soup Cigar ties Citation's record with 16th consecutive victory
1995 Cigar Thunder Gulch Cigar Cigar finishes 10 for 10 after Breeders' Cup Classic victory
1994 Holy Bull Go For Gin Concern
1993 Kotashaan Sea Hero Arcangues
1992 A.P. Indy Lil E. Tee A.P. Indy
1991 Black Tie Affair Strike The Gold Black Tie Affair
1990 Criminal Type Unbridled Unbridled
1989 Sunday Silence Sunday Silence Sunday Silence Sunday Silence defeats Easy Goer in 3 of 4 Grade I showdowns
Easy Goer finishes 8 for 11 with 3 seconds to Sunday Silence
1988 Alysheba Winning Colors Alysheba
1987 Ferdinand Alysheba Ferdinand
1986 Lady's Secret Ferdinand Skywalker Trainer Woody Stephens wins 5th consecutive Belmont Stakes
1985 Spend A Buck Spend A Buck Proud Truth Precisionist sweeps Strub series
1984 John Henry Swale Wild Again Slew o' Gold sweeps Belmont Fall Championship Series
Fit To Fight sweeps Belmont Handicap Triple
1983 All Along Sunny's Halo All Along wins Arc, then sweeps Turf Triple
1982 Conquistador Cielo Gato Del Sol
1981 John Henry Pleasant Colony
1980 Spectacular Bid Genuine Risk Spectacular Bid finishes 9 for 9 after Woodward Stakes walkover
Spectacular Bid sweeps Strub series
1979 Affirmed Spectacular Bid Affirmed defeats Spectacular Bid in Jockey Club Gold Cup.
1978 Affirmed Affirmed Seattle Slew defeats Affirmed twice in Fall Championship Series.
Affirmed wins Triple Crown, defeating Alydar in all 3 races.
Alydar finishes 7 for 10 with 3 seconds to Affirmed
1977 Seattle Slew Seattle Slew Seattle Slew wins Triple Crown
1976 Forego Bold Forbes
1975 Forego Foolish Pleasure
1974 Forego Cannonade Ancient Title sweeps Strub series
1973 Secretariat Secretariat Secretariat wins Triple Crown
1972 Secretariat Riva Ridge
1971 Ack Ack Canonero II

Detail Pages by Decade